*
Yes, pure, distilled whiskey (or whisky), also if made through wheat, barley, or rye is taken into consideration gluten-free.

Most whiskeys space safe for people with celiac an illness because the the distillation process. However, it is in on the lookout for concealed gluten in whiskeys that add flavorings or various other additives after distillation. Over there is likewise a risk for gluten cross-contact in framework that procedure products comprise wheat, barley, or rye.

Common brands of Whiskey Include:

Crown RoyalFireballJamesonSeagram’s 7 Black VelvetJohnnie WalkerSouthern ComfortDewar’s

The Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and also Trade bureau (TTB), which regulates most alcoholic beverages in the unified States, freshly ruled the distilled alcohol, even when made v a gluten-containing grain, have the right to be labeled gluten free. Examples incorporate whiskey make from wheat or rye and Scotch do from barley.

You are watching: Is crown royal whiskey gluten free

The ruling was triggered when the Food and also Drug Administration, i beg your pardon regulates many food, clarified the labeling demands for hydrolyzed, fermented and also distilled products. 

“Because distillation clears protein if an excellent manufacturing practices are followed, and because it is possible to verify the absence of protein or protein pieces in these products using scientifically valid analytical methods, TTB will permit “gluten-free” cases on distilled assets from gluten-containing grains as lengthy as great manufacturing methods are complied with to avoid the advent of any type of gluten-containing material right into the last product,” according to the TTB.

Companies that make distilled alcohol have to be able to prove, ~ above request, the there is no protein in the distillate or any added ingredients and also that precautions have been bring away to avoid cross-contact, including from storage materials.

Additionally, the TTB continues to permit the hatchet “gluten-free” ~ above labels and in advertisements because that alcohol beverages created without gluten-containing grains or various other ingredients comprise gluten, listed the industry member takes suitable measures come ensure the its raw materials, ingredients, manufacturing facilities, warehouse materials, and finished assets were not subject to cross-contact through gluten. Examples encompass vodka made from corn or potatoes. 

Any details on the gluten contents of certain brands shared over was obtained during the last update of this page. Be sure to inspect with the manufacturer for the latest information or if friend have any kind of questions.

See more: How Do You Wash Football Gloves In The Washing Machine? Are Nike Vapor Jet Gloves Machine Washable

Learn more about gluten and also alcohol in this ar from Answers indigenous a Dietitian.